sponsors points media fans contact

Bob Close Returns to NDRL’s McKean County Raceway; Blair, Davies, Michael, and Mitchell also Victorious.

East Smethport, PA (May 3, 2013) McKean County Raceway saw some familiar faces in victory lane for their second night of racing under the NDRL Management team.  Bob Close of Eldred, PA returned to MCR victory lane in the super late models for the first time in several years.  Joining Close in victory was Ron Davies in the Emods, former champion Andy Michael in the Close Racing Supply Street Stocks, while Larry Mitchell Jr. and Max Blair won for the second week in a row in the Mini Stocks and RUSH Crate Late Models.

Former track champions, Bob Close and Dick Barton paced the super late model field for the 25 lap $1500 to win “Incredible Weekly” event.  Barton would use the high line around the track to edge Close for the lead at the start of the event.  Barton would lead the first four laps over Close and Jason Dupont until a undisclosed mechanical failure saw him bring the yellow lights on lap 4.   Close would restart the field with Dupont and Rob Blair on his rear bumper.  Dupont would try several laps to get by the high riding Close with Blair, Boom Briggs and Ron Davies in his rear view mirror.  Briggs and Davies would both get by Blair on lap 16 and Blair would come to a stop in turn 4 the next lap for the final caution of the event.  Close again charged ahead of his competitors as Dupont again followed the #04 machine tire tracks..  Davies would sweep by Briggs for third on lap 17 and the field would stay the same till the end as Close would take his first super late model win at MCR in several years over Dupont, last week’s winner Ron Davies, Boom Briggs and Greg Oakes.  Heat winners were Dupont and Blair.

2012 national champion, Max Blair of Centerville, PA made it two for two at MCR with his dominating performance.  Blair came from the 5th position into the lead on lap two as he went around Ed Carley and never looked back in the 20 lap event.  Carley kept enough distance between himself and his son Zack to come home third as Zack Carley had a MCR career finish in third.   Chad Ruhlman came home fourth from his eleventh place starting position and Ward Schell finished fifth in the Ron Baker #74 machine.  Heat winners were Adam Sixt, Damien Bidwell and Blair.

Steve Dixon and Nathan Hill were your front row starters for the Emods.   Dixon took the lead at the start with Ron Davies following and  Hill sliding back to third.  Davies kept the pressure on Dixon while Rich Michael Jr and Randy Hall were all over Hill for third.  Lap 8 saw Hall and Michael split the lap car of Joshua John with Michael wheel hopping John and cutting down a left rear tire.  The restart saw Hall slip by Hill for third as Dixon was still in command over Davies.  Lap 15 saw Dixon jump the cushion and Davies capitalizing to take the lead over.  Dixon would not give up as he and Hall would apply heavy pressure on the “Rim Rider” as the lap car of John got tagged in the three car chase for the checkers and spun coming out of turn four to bring out a two lap shootout for the win.  Davies shot back into the lead as last weeks winner Hall would drift under Dixon to take second at the checkers.   Dixon was third followed by Travis Asel and Nathan Hill.   Heat winners were Michael and the father son duo of Ron and Dan Davies.

Brad Ullman and Jeremy Perry paced the Close Racing Supply Street Stocks to John Powell’s green flag.  Perry would lead the first two laps till Ulllman would took over on lap three.  Former track champion, Andy Michael would show his presence on lap 4 as he would take over the runner up spot.  Last weeks winner, Adam Ashcroft would go pit side with a right front flat ending his top five run.  Randy Taylor would bring out the yellow on lap six ending his third place run with a flat tire.  Michael would lead the remaining distance over Ullman while Gary Fisher, Josh Wilcox and Ted Mascho rounded out the top five.  Heat winners were Ashcroft and Ullman.

Kurt and Chad Babcock led the mini stock feature with Chad leading lap one over last weeks winner, Larry Mitchell Jr.   Mitchell hounded Babcock till lap five when he took over the top spot bringing Chris Paar with him.  Parr chased after Mitchell the next ten laps and even got within a car length several times but Mitchell had little more pony  under his hood off the corner each lap to win for the second week in a row.  Parr was second followed by Mitch Boylan, Casey Burch and Eric Canfield.  Mitchell and Canfield were the heat winners.

The NDRL McKean County Raceway will be back in action on Friday night, May 10 with the NDRL ULMS Late Model Series and the NDRL A&MP Electric UEMS Emod Series on hand along with the weekly program of RUSH Crate Late Models, street stocks and mini stocks.  Racing begins at 7PM next Friday night.

RESULTS: May 3, 2013

SUPER LATE MODELS: BOB CLOSE, Jason Dupont, Ron Davies, Boom Briggs, Greg Oakes, John Lacki, Rob Blair, Brent Rhebergen, Dick Barton and Chris Hackett (DNS)

RUSH Crate Late Models: MAX BLAIR, Ed Carley, Zack Carley, Chad Ruhlman, Ward Schell, Bob Kish, Justin Tatlow, Brad Mesler, Doug Ricotta, Garrett Mott, Craig Dean, Jon Lichy, John Haggerty, Richard Hemphill, Justin Smith, Bill Mesler, Bruno Mowery, Adam Sixt, Derek Frank, Dusty Waters, Damien Bidwell, Dave Norton Jr., Cody Mason

EMODS: RON DAVIES, Randy Hall, Steve Dixon, Travis Asel, Nathan Hill, John Woodward Jr., Carl McKinney, Vic Vena, Dan Davies, Kirk Bradley, Al Brewer, Cale Crocker, Butch Southwell, Tom Hagberg, Carl Ballinger, Joshua John, Darren Tarabori, Rich Michael Jr.

CLOSE Racing Supply Street Stocks: ANDY MICHAEL, Brad Ullman, Gary Fisher, Josh Wilcox, Ted Mascho, Jeff Woodward, Joe Chamberlain, Randy Taylor, Jeremy Perry, Steve Sklar, Adam Ashcroft

Min Stocks: LARRY MITCHELL, Chris Paar, Mitch Boylan, Chad Babcock, Casey Burch, Eric Canfield, Joe Boylan, Kurt Babcock, Michael Oakes, Denny Babcock, Richard Kline Sr

schedule drivers sponsors points rules tickets fans contact