sponsors points media fans contact

Smethport & Bradford Night Highlight MCR Card Saturday Night

East Smethport, PA (May 8, 2014) After suffering the first cancellation of the season last Saturday night, the NDRL McKean County Raceway will roar back to action at 7PM, Saturday night.  Management of MCR will be offering $2.00 off to all Smethport and Bradford residents with Valid ID.  A complete “Super 6” program will be in action at the speed palace in E. Smethport.

Ripley, NY racer, Mike “Hollywood” Knight is still the current point leader in the super late model division over David Scott of Garland by six points.  There is a three way tie for third with Chris Hackett, Greg Oakes and Dick Barton all tied with 180pts.  Last week’s winner, Rob Blair who is the defending track champion is expected to be back this week.

Chad Ruhlman of Bemis Point, NY won the opener and finished a solid second last week, holds a solid 14 point lead over Damien Bidwell who is two points ahead of Waterford, PA’s Bobby Rohrer.  Last year’s track champion, Max Blair picked up the win last week.  The RUSH Crate Late Model field at MCR is the largest weekly crate field in the northeast with car counts of 25 and 30 and another solid deep field of racers is expected this Saturday night.

The Close Racing Supply Modifieds have seen two different winners in two nights with point leader Randy Hall winning opening night and last week John Woodward Jr of Franklinville sweeping around Hall and Vic Vena after a late race caution to pick up the popular win.  Woodward sits six points behind Hall and two points ahead of Vena in the early season point chase.

Dennis Asel of Kane leads the early point battle in the Highway Auto Sales Stock Car division.  Asel’s opening night win has given him a slim two point lead over last weeks winner, Kurt Stebbins.  Ted Mascho and Rick Wojotwicz sit tied in third with Gary Fisher and female racer Elaine Best in hot pursuit.

Mitch Boylan has two straight wins over Kurt Babcock to lead the mini stock point chase.  Andy Proper, Holden Heinemann of Arcade, Dave Lowe Jr of Eldred and Pat Mitchell Jr of Smethport all have cars to win this week.

Bolivar’s, Joe Layfield, who is the defending Pure Stock champion has two wins also in the first two nights.  He has held off Roger Schweikart both nights.   Roulette’s, Cliff Easton sits third with Olean’s, Art Peterson and Dennis Cummings of Wellsville in fifth.  MCR management has been told that additional pure stocks, stock cars and modifieds will be coming in the next few weeks as teams finish their cars for the 2014 season.

Grandstand admission is $12 for adults, $10 for Senior Citizens, children 11-17 are $6, with the Family Pack costing $35.  Remember all Smethport and Bradford residents showing valid ID will receive $2.00 off the grandstand admission price.   Pit Passes will be $25 still.  Grandstands open at 5pm, with the pits opening at 430PM and racing beginning 7pm sharp at the dirt track in Smethport, the NDRL McKean County Raceway!

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.  

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

schedule drivers sponsors points rules tickets fans contact