sponsors points media fans contact

Opening Night Weekend for the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway!

East Smethport, PA (April 15, 2014) The 2014 NDRL McKean County Raceway season opener is this coming Friday and Saturday.  The season kicks off Friday night with an open practice session for all competitors and on Saturday the 2014 point chase begins with the SPRING CLASSIC!

Practice begins at 7:30PM on Friday night and will go till 10:30PM.  Price for the pits will be $20 while the grandstands are free to the public.  Any race car is free to participate during the practice session whether they are weekly competitor or not.  On Saturday, the weekly six division class featuring the super late models, RUSH Crate Late Models, Close Racing Supply Modifieds (Emods) Highway Auto Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and  Mini Stock divisions will compete in the season opening Spring Classic.

Pit Passes are $25, while Adult Admission is $12; senior tickets are $10 with the Family Pack featuring two (2) adults and 2 children (ages 11-17) for $35.  Any other child age 11-17 will pay $6 and children age 10 and under are free.

MCR has a very extensive 30 event schedule for the 2014 season.  The National Dirt Racing League is entering its first season of a new five year agreement with the fairboard.  A new racing surface will be placed later this spring once the winter frost is out of the ground.  Several big events will be held at the ultra-fast 3/8 mile oval in E. Smethport in 2014.  Two appearances by the Patriot sprint cars, tractor pull sanction by Full Pull Productions along with the popular RUSH Crate Late Model Touring Series, along with the NDRL NE Regional Series for the super late models and modifieds (Emods) and two stops by the NDRL Kings of Dirt National Dirt Late Model Series featuring Hall of Fame drivers, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and defending national champion, Billy Moyer of Batesville Arkansas. 

The weekly MCR Super Late Models will see top regional racers such as Chris Hackett, Dick Barton, Jason Dupont, Brent Rhebergen, Dutch Davies, David Scott, Darrell Bossard, Greg Oakes along with others competing weekly.  The 2013 track champion Rob Blair will be in action as well but will not be a weekly competitor as he will be assisting his son Max on the national NDRL King of Dirt Series. 

The weekly RUSH Crate Late Models will see a new champion also this year as last year’s champion, Max Blair dominated the action.  Max has gone super late model racing as the new driver for Kennedy Motorsports and is a candidate for the NDRL’s King of Dirt Rookie of Year program.  With Max gone, the field is wide open for the crate division.  A large field of crates is expected weekly along with possible non qualifier events for this division.  Adam SIXT, Ed and Zach Carly, Damien Bidwell, Ward Schell, Jason GenCorp, John Haggerty and others.  “This will be our most competitive weekly class with car counts expected to be in the mid-30s weekly.  I can foresee 10 different winners easily this  year in this class, especially with Max now in a super late model and he will make special appearances in a crate throughout the year, so you know he will still be  a tough competitor now and then, stated MCR General Manager, Chris Zuver.”

The Close Racing Supply Modifieds will see Smethport’s Steve Dixon back to defend his title but he will have stiff challenges from Olean’s  Vic Vena and Randy Hall along with Dan Davies, John Woodward Jr., veteran Al Brewer, Rich Michael Jr., Brent Rhebergen and Travis Asel.   The modifieds will see the NDRL touring series events several times in 2014 season.

The Highway Auto Stock Cars saw some major changes including the name change from street stocks to stock cars to bring the weekly class more in line of the stock car divisions in other western Pennsylvania tracks.   Defending champion, Adam Ashcroft has moved on into the new RUSH crate modified division leaving the door wide open for many new racers that will be gracing the MCR oval in 2014.

The Pure Stocks and Mini Stocks will also be in action each week.  Joe Layfield will be returning to defend is pure stock championship while the mini stocks will see a new champion as Joe Boylan has moved into the modified division.

MCR will be establishing a new feature line up system in 2014 as well.   Last year the passing point system was and by the demand of the fans it has been scrapped for the upcoming season.  Racers will still draw their starting positions as normal and they will now redraw for the feature event based on the following criteria:   2 heat events (top 3 redraw) 3 heats (top 3 redraw) 4 heats (top 2 redraw) 5  heats (top 2 redraw) and 6 heats (winner only redraws).   The winner from the week before will start no better than the last redraw position the following weekend or the next weekly event they enter.  “We tried the passing point procedure last year and noticed the comments and complaints from the fans with the new procedures.  This year with the redraw returning and the previous week’s winner starting no better than the last redraw position this should give the fans some excitement come feature time, stated Zuver.”

The 2014 MCR season kicks off Friday, April 18 with a practice session followed by opening night the next night, Saturday, April 19 for all six divisions.  For all your MCR information check www.mckeancountyraceway.com or follow MCR on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.  

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

schedule drivers sponsors points rules tickets fans contact